25 May 2021

Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards Recognise Excellence

Nominations for the 2021 Royal Automobile Club Historic Awards are now open. The annual awards are a celebration of the British historic motoring and motorsport scene.

Candidates can nominate themselves or be nominated by a third party. Nominations close on the 1st October 2021 and can be made on the Royal Automobile Club website for one of the following categories:

  • Collection
  • Competitive Event
  • Innovation
  • Motoring Spectacle
  • Outstanding Journalism
  • Personality
  • Restoration
  • Young Achiever

Ben Cussons, Chairman of the Royal Automobile Club said, “The UK’s historic motoring sector has an annual turnover of £18 billion and provides employment for 113,000 people, and the award categories reflect its many facets. This year we have introduced a new award – Innovation – in recognition of the new products, services or initiatives which have been introduced over the past year. We very much look forward to receiving nominations and assessing what we are sure will be candidates of an exceptionally high calibre across all categories and celebrating those achievements at the Awards’ evening on 25 November at our Pall Mall clubhouse.

The eligibility period is 1 October 2020 to 30 September 2021. Rigorous, expert and independent judging is a key element of the Awards, and each category will be assessed by its own handpicked, specialist judging panel.

At the Awards’ evening on Thursday, 25 November, the Club will also present the Royal Automobile Club Lifetime Achievement Award, in recognition of an individual who has made a remarkable contribution to British motoring and/or motorsport heritage over many decades.

Find out more about the RAC, the award nomination categories and make a nomination by visiting the Royal Automobile Club website