22nd November 2021

The RAC announce 2021 Motoring Book of the Year Winners

Earlier this month, the RAC’s Motoring Book of the Year award was presented to Simon Kidston and Jon Pressnell’s definitive history of the Lamborghini Miura.

Now in its eighth consecutive year, the Awards for this year were made more expansive to reflect the increasing number of significant titles being published in both the motoring and motorsport worlds across different price brackets.

As a result, there were four book categories this year in addition to the overall winner – plus a Lifetime Achievement Award and the Graham Robson Award, in honour of the late Graham Robson, for Best Debut Author.

With 53 entries this year, this marked a record number of submissions for the Awards. The entries represented 26 different publishers from around the world. They were all assessed by a panel of six expert judges led by former winner of the Specialist Book of the Year Award, non-voting committee chairman Simon Taylor.

"The quality of entries this year has been quite remarkable," said Simon Taylor, "which made the judges’ job particularly difficult. There was a lot of healthy discussion and debate, and the fact that we were truly spoilt for choice is a reassuring sign that the publishing industry continues to go from strength to strength."

The shortlist of contenders included biographies, marque histories, motor sport titles and general motoring reference books, and the judges selected The Lamborghini Miura as the 2021 Motoring Book of the Year. Published by Kidston SA and limited to 762 numbered copies, one for every Miura built, it was recognised as being the most comprehensive work ever completed on the subject. The book features many previously unseen photographs and countless in-depth interviews with all the men behind the Miura.

"This stunning book is the result of ten years’ work by the talented team," said judge Mick Walsh, "and the enthusiastic resolve for the best is clear throughout. Spurred on by Miura fanatic Simon Kidston, author Jon Pressnell produced a text to match the wonderful imagery and Julian Balme’s beautiful design. A definitive model history. Ferruccio Lamborghini would be very proud."

You can see the full list of winners from the Awards below.

The Motoring Book of the Year

The Lamborghini Miura
By Simon Kidston and Jon Pressnell
Published by Kidston SA

Motoring Book of Year (Below £50)

Tipping Point – Designing a Great British Underdog
By Andy Plumb
Published by Lead-In Design

Motoring Book of the Year (No Price Limit)

Joseph Figoni: Le Grand Couturier de la Carrosserie Automobile Volume 1, Alfa-Romeo
By Peter M Larsen and Ben Erickson
Published by Moteurs!

Motorsport Book of the Year (Below £50)

Mr Le Mans, Tom Kristensen
By Tom Kristensen with Dan Philipsen
Published by Evro Publishing

Motorsport Book of the Year (No Price Limit)

Delage Records & Grand Prix
By Daniel Cabart and Sébastien Faurès Fustel de Coulanges
Published by Orep Editions

Graham Robson Award for Best Debut Author

The Rise of The Sidevalves
By Tom Fryars
Published by Gorton Publishing

Lifetime Achievement Award
Mark Hughes

You can see more about the Royal Automobile Club here: https://royalautomobileclubhistoricawards.co.uk