The Last Winner of the Footman James Classic American Car of the Year Announced

09 November, 2017

The last of the Footman James Classic American Car of the Year heats has finally come to an end as heat eight's winner was announced at this year’s American Autumn Classic.

The seven-month competition ended at Prescott Hill Climb on Sunday 1st October when Laura and Ross Meek drove down their stunning 1967 Ford Mustang, which was later crowned the winner of heat eight.

With the exterior coated in a beautiful dark red layer, this Mustang was a must win at this year’s event as it had plenty to boast about. The Mustang is fitted with a block S-code 390 motor, a four-speed top loader gearbox and an Eqau-lock-diff, which will make it a tough competitor at this year’s Classic Motor Show.

Before being shipped to our shores in 2003, the car appeared to have been ordered new from Nebraska where it stayed with its original owner until the 1980’s. Over this time the Mustang was kept in storage for ten years after being taken off road and restored with a few adjustments made by the original buyer. There was a decision to remove the rear fold-down seat and install power-steering, tinted glass windows and an AM radio instead.

For visitors attending this week’s Classic Motor Show- held at Birmingham’s NEC between 10th-12th November- will have the chance to vote for this 1967 Ford Mustang to win the Footman James Classic American Car of the Year 2017. The winner will be announced around 3:30pm on Sunday 12th November; so, if you want to see this classic American vehicle be crowned the ultimate winner, pop over to the Classic American stand to cast your vote!